What is Your Mission?

What is your mission? What are your values?

This Christmas break, I decided to get a lot of books from the library (creative, education, psychology, etc). One of those books pressed upon me the necessity of defining your values personally. I’ve never really thought of spending much time thinking about my core values. However, I am excited with what I am learning.

My wife and I met on E harmony. When you first sign up you have to take a very lengthy questionnaire. I think it took me an hour.

After that, you have to think about your value system. Dr. Warren (Eharmony founder) states these as “10 Must Haves and 10 Can’t Stands”. They give you suggestions, thankfully, but you have to decide your top 10 things you must have in a mate and 10 nonnegotiable traits you can’t tolerate.

You cannot waiver. You must stop communicating if someone doesn’t measure up to what you need/want. I am super thankful for this stringent system.

We have a very wonderful marriage that is filled with joy and little strife. We get a long very well, think along the same lines almost all the time, and have similar values. We are very compatible and that is fun.

Values.

I started thinking about my values after reading John C. Maxwell’s Today Matters. I will summarize: Decide your values in different areas of your life and make a plan to work on them everyday. Its the slow process of accomplishing them everyday that will affect you in the long term.

So I have decided to take time, examine my values, and live according to them. I think it is important to have them on your mind and heart when you make decisions, place time and energy into activities, and for life in general. Too long have I gone without thinking about my values in a consistent manner. It’s like drifting on the waves of the ocean with no heading to get anywhere worthwhile.

I then took it a step further. If I determine my values, I should probably make an easy to remember mission statement for myself.

If a mission statement can help me focus on my values and influence my behavior, why not have one for my family? for my homeschool?

I told my wife that I want to work with her to develop a family mission statement that we can review from time to time. My hope is that it eventually gives my kids a value center in which to follow. I also asked her to help me create one for our homeschool.

It would be like a pledge but we would recite our mission statement for homeschool which would review our values in learning, behavior, and family harmony.

I can almost here it now: THAT IS BRAINWASHING!! INDOCTRINATION!!

You betcha it is.

But so is TV, video games, internet, social networks, apps, and various other media that kids are exposed to without a second thought.

I figure I will brainwash my kids positively (and benevolently) so that my family and homeschool runs well. So that the ideals of thinking, learning, positive moral behavior is always in their mind. (among other things)

I don’t take this task lightly. That is why I haven’t written any of them yet. I am carefully considering everything.

I showed my wife this site and told her it had a great resource list on different values. She later told me the article was really good and worth reading (oops) to reinforce the idea of determining your values and meditating on them.

So in the next few weeks, we will be determining our mission for family, for education, and for ourselves. We will be revising the mission statements as the kids get older but I figure start out with something simple while they are young.

What is your mission? What values drive you?

3 thoughts on “What is Your Mission?

Leave a Reply

